Sari la conținut
Forum Roportal
The Unknown

Health benefits of cilantro

Evaluează acest topic

Postări Recomandate

Eating cilantro to banish psoriasis

People’s Pharmacy looks at psoriasis, acid reflux and cracked fingertips.

Q. I wrote to you about my luck with cilantro for psoriasis more than two years ago. It makes me feel good to read on your website that others have had good results from this treatment.

I have been using this as needed for more than 10 years. When I first notice small red patches, usually on my legs, I get two bunches of cilantro leaves and eat them over the next three days or so. The red spots go away.

After the patches clear up, I stop eating cilantro and see how long it takes for my symptoms to return. It might take months. If or when they come back, a few doses of cilantro take care of it.

A. We have been fascinated with your report since we first received it. Although we could find no scientific studies of cilantro as a treatment for psoriasis, a number of other readers have tried your approach.

Not everyone appreciates the unique taste of cilantro. A few people have tried capsules of dried cilantro leaves, but one person reported that the capsules did not work as well as eating the leaves. His psoriasis plaques started coming back when he quit eating the herb.

Q. For years, my husband took medicine for acid reflux, but he doesn’t anymore. We found that eating half an apple right before going to bed solves his problem completely. Have you ever heard of something so simple being so wonderful?

A. Some other readers have told us that eating a bit of apple before bedtime helps control acid reflux at night. We also have heard from people who find that eating a few almonds (up to a small handful) at the end of a meal prevents post-meal reflux.